Reference values
The published values the calculator uses. Per-item values are used when you enter the number of items. Otherwise the category average by weight is used.
Expected output fractions per category, from the facility spreadsheet (version 1). Changing a percentage saves a new version, and earlier versions are kept.
2B1 Laptops · active version 1
| Code | Fraction | Recipe % |
|---|---|---|
| 19 12 02 / 01-1 | iron fraction ’not pure’ | |
| 19 12 03 / 02-1 | mix of non-ferrous metals ’not pure’ | |
| 19 12 03 / 03-1 | aluminium fraction ’not pure’ | |
| 19 12 04 / 02-1 | hard plastics ’pieces’ ’not pure’ - below ROHS/REACH values | |
| 16 02 16 / 17 | hard discs, cd-rom-, dvd- and floppy drives | |
| 16 02 15* / 02-4 | power supply cables | |
| 16 06 xx(*) / 02-1 | mix of batteries | |
| 16 02 15* / 02 | mix of printed circuit boards from dismantling | |
| 19 12 11* / 08-2 | circuit board fraction | |
| 16 02 16 / 10-1 | power supply cables | |
| 16 02 15* / 08-2 | mix of flat panel displays ’panels’ | |
| 19 12 12 / 01 | residues from separation - no hazardous substances and plastics below ROHS/REACH values | |
| Total | 100% |
JRC (2020) Guidance for the Assessment of Material Efficiency: Smartphones, after Manhart et al. 2016 — Table 18, p. 61
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 22.18 g per item |
| Copper Cu | 15.12 g per item |
| Magnesium Mg | 5.54 g per item |
| Cobalt Co | 5.38 g per item |
| Tungsten W | 0.44 g per item |
| Neodymium Nd | 0.05 g per item |
| Tantalum Ta | 0.02 g per item |
| Praseodymium Pr | 0.01 g per item |
| Palladium Pd | 0.01 g per item |
| Gallium Ga | 0.4 mg per item |
| Gadolinium Gd | 0.2 mg per item |
| Europium Eu | 0.1 mg per item |
| Cerium Ce | 0.03 mg per item |
Öko-Institut (2012) Recycling critical raw materials from waste electronic equipment — Tables 12, 13, 23
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Cobalt Co | 65 g per item |
| Neodymium Nd | 2.1 g per item |
| Tantalum Ta | 1.7 g per item |
| Praseodymium Pr | 0.27 g per item |
| Dysprosium Dy | 0.06 g per item |
| Palladium Pd | 0.04 g per item |
Ueberschaar et al. (2017) — investigated products · alternative value
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Tantalum Ta | 1 g per item |
Öko-Institut (2012) Recycling critical raw materials from waste electronic equipment — Tables 12, 13, 23
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Yttrium Y | 4.8 mg per item |
| Gallium Ga | 4.9 mg per item |
| Gadolinium Gd | 2.3 mg per item |
| Palladium Pd | 0.044 g per item |
Öko-Institut (2012) Recycling critical raw materials from waste electronic equipment — Tables 12, 13, 23 · alternative value
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Yttrium Y | 0.11 g per item |
| Europium Eu | 8.1 mg per item |
| Terbium Tb | 2.3 mg per item |
| Palladium Pd | 0.044 g per item |
Öko-Institut (2012) Recycling critical raw materials from waste electronic equipment — Tables 12, 13, 23
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Yttrium Y | 0.016 g per item |
| Europium Eu | 1.2 mg per item |
| Palladium Pd | 0.04 g per item |
Washing-machine ecodesign draft (13 June 2025) — ≈10 g NdFeB magnets per average machine · provisional
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Neodymium Nd | 3 g per item |
FutuRaM consolidated WEEE composition (2025 BAU) — aggregated elemental rows, collection-category level · batteries not included
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 4.04 wt% |
| Copper Cu | 4.29 wt% |
| Neodymium Nd | 0.176 g/t |
| Tantalum Ta | 0.0159 g/t |
FutuRaM consolidated WEEE composition (2025 BAU) — aggregated elemental rows, collection-category level · batteries not included
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 4.99 wt% |
| Copper Cu | 2.65 wt% |
| Neodymium Nd | 386 g/t |
| Tantalum Ta | 35.5 g/t |
FutuRaM consolidated WEEE composition (2025 BAU) — aggregated elemental rows, collection-category level · batteries not included
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 32.4 wt% |
| Copper Cu | 2.84 wt% |
| Neodymium Nd | 2.48 g/t |
| Tantalum Ta | 5.68 g/t |
FutuRaM consolidated WEEE composition (2025 BAU) — aggregated elemental rows, collection-category level · batteries not included
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 2.05 wt% |
| Copper Cu | 1.73 wt% |
| Neodymium Nd | 181 g/t |
| Tantalum Ta | 0.126 g/t |
FutuRaM consolidated WEEE composition (2025 BAU) — aggregated elemental rows, collection-category level · batteries not included
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 6.95 wt% |
| Copper Cu | 5.22 wt% |
| Neodymium Nd | 97.2 g/t |
| Tantalum Ta | 1.33 g/t |
FutuRaM consolidated WEEE composition (2025 BAU) — aggregated elemental rows, collection-category level · batteries not included
| Material | Value |
|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 2.11 wt% |
| Copper Cu | 3.37 wt% |
| Neodymium Nd | 305 g/t |
| Tantalum Ta | not available |
Whole-board values are used for circuit-board fractions. Component and per-component values are shown for reference only and are never added to a whole-board total for the same material.
| What was analysed | Material | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Router/modem/hub PCB (populated) whole board | Copper Cu | 22 wt% | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 10 routers/modems/hubs · measurement |
| Router/modem/hub PCB (populated) whole board | Palladium Pd | 20 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 10 routers/modems/hubs · measurement |
| Router/modem/hub PCB (populated) whole board | Arsenic As | < 70 mg/kgbelow 70 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 10 routers/modems/hubs · measurement |
| Router/modem/hub PCB (populated) whole board | Beryllium Be | 0.3 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 10 routers/modems/hubs · measurement |
| Mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Copper Cu | 34 wt% | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 mobile phones · measurement |
| Mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Palladium Pd | 119 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 mobile phones · measurement |
| Mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Arsenic As | 93 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 mobile phones · measurement |
| Mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Beryllium Be | 99 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 mobile phones · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB (populated) whole board | Copper Cu | 40 wt% | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 smartphones · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB (populated) whole board | Palladium Pd | 55 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 smartphones · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB (populated) whole board | Arsenic As | 141 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 smartphones · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB (populated) whole board | Beryllium Be | 115 mg/kg | Holgersson et al. (2018) Analysis of the metal content of small-size WEEE printed circuit boards — 30 smartphones · measurement |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Copper Cu | 19 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Aluminium Al | 5 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Manganese Mn | 0.75 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Nickel Ni | 0.6 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Tantalum Ta | 0.58 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Antimony Sb | 0.3 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Strontium Sr | 0.04 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Palladium Pd | 0.02 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Bismuth Bi | 0.012 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Cobalt Co | 0.01 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Beryllium Be | 0.01 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Arsenic As | 0.003 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Gallium Ga | 0.001 wt% | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Boron (compound-bound) B | 0.932 wt%from 3% B₂O₃, compound-bound | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Laptop PCB (assumed average) whole board | Magnesium Mg | 0.211 wt%from 0.35% MgO, compound-bound | JRC (2016) Feasibility study on recyclability/recoverability reference values — Table 20, p. 69 — source totals 95.13%, not normalised · modelling assumption |
| Feature-phone PCB (prepared) whole board | Nickel Ni | 2.8 wt% | Jandric et al. (2026) — median, phones 1998–2021 · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB (prepared) whole board | Nickel Ni | 5.7 wt% | Jandric et al. (2026) — median, phones 1998–2021 · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Copper Cu | 19.3 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Nickel Ni | 3.46 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Neodymium Nd | 0.66 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Tantalum Ta | 0.27 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Tungsten W | 0.22 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Cobalt Co | 0.072 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Praseodymium Pr | 0.07 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Lanthanum La | 0.059 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Palladium Pd | 0.048 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Gallium Ga | 0.016 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Germanium Ge | 0.0068 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Detached phone-PCB components detached components | Niobium Nb | 0.0053 wt% | Gorewoda et al. (2020) — Table 1 (12 kg from 50 kg boards) · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Neodymium Nd | 3,660 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Yttrium Y | 2,200 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Dysprosium Dy | 1,310 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Palladium Pd | 1,050 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Cerium Ce | 530 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Erbium Er | 230 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Ruthenium Ru | 210 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Gadolinium Gd | 150 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Holmium Ho | 150 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Praseodymium Pr | 90 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Samarium Sm | 50 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Iridium Ir | 40 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Ceramic capacitors (MLCC, lighting) detached components | Lanthanum La | 20 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2023) — Tables 2–3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Tantalum capacitors (107A, 100 µF) detached components | Antimony Sb | 1.6 wt% | Charles et al. (2020) — ±0.5 wt% · measurement |
| MP3-player PCB, removed components detached components | Palladium Pd | 110 mg/kg | Charles et al. (2020) — approx. · measurement |
| LCD main-PCB, removed components detached components | Palladium Pd | 140 mg/kg | Charles et al. (2020) — approx. · measurement |
| Mobile-phone PCB, removed components detached components | Palladium Pd | 660 mg/kg | Charles et al. (2020) — approx. · measurement |
| Camera PCB, removed components detached components | Palladium Pd | 40 mg/kg | Charles et al. (2020) — approx. · measurement |
| Integrated circuits (lighting) detached components | Palladium Pd | 0–74 mg/kg | Sideris et al. (2025) — range 0–74 mg/kg; Pt below quantification · measurement |
| HDD actuator magnets (3½-inch) per item | Neodymium Nd | 11.4 g per item | Charles et al. (2020) — 11.4 ± 0.3 g · measurement |
| Phone speaker magnet per component | Neodymium Nd | 0.133 g per item | Charles et al. (2020) — 133 ± 3 mg · measurement |
| Laptop CCFL tube per component | Yttrium Y | 0.013 g per item | Charles et al. (2020) — 13 ± 0.1 mg · measurement |
| Resistor RHC2512 (thick film) per component | Ruthenium Ru | 0.32 mg per item | Stackpole Electronics declaration (2013) — RuO₂ 0.4219 mg → Ru · manufacturer declaration |
| Blue LED per component | Gallium Ga | 0.017 mg–0.025 mg each | Gassmann et al. (2016) — 17–25 µg, technology-specific · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Copper Cu | 43.35 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Aluminium Al | 1.39 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Neodymium Nd | 0.26 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Manganese Mn | 0.17 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Tungsten W | 0.09 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Lithium Li | 0.08 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Palladium Pd | 0.08 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Magnesium Mg | 0.07 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Praseodymium Pr | 0.06 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Antimony Sb | 0.06 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Cobalt Co | 0.04 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Gallium Ga | 0.04 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB incl. magnets (pooled, 2012–2020) whole board | Niobium Nb | 0.03 wt% | Cenci et al. (2025) — Table 1, 40 phones, ICP-OES — alternative 6B profile, only for boards with magnets · measurement |
| RAM module SDR PC100 32 MB (Discovery) per component | Copper Cu | 2.67 g per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 4 · measurement |
| RAM module SDR PC100 32 MB (Discovery) per component | Palladium Pd | 1.49 mg per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 4 · measurement |
| RAM module DDR PC2100 128 MB (Samsung) per component | Copper Cu | 3.8 g per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 8 · measurement |
| RAM module DDR PC2100 128 MB (Samsung) per component | Palladium Pd | 1.69 mg per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 8 · measurement |
| RAM module DDR2 PC2-6400 2 GB (Kingston) per component | Copper Cu | 5.08 g per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 14 · measurement |
| RAM module DDR2 PC2-6400 2 GB (Kingston) per component | Palladium Pd | 0.399 mg per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 14 · measurement |
| RAM module DDR3 PC3-8500 2 GB (Samsung) per component | Copper Cu | 4.76 g per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 15 — historical, not for DDR4/DDR5 · measurement |
| RAM module DDR3 PC3-8500 2 GB (Samsung) per component | Palladium Pd | 0.58 mg per item | Charles et al. (2017) — Tables 1–2, sample 15 — historical, not for DDR4/DDR5 · measurement |
| Memory-card PCB material (ICs removed) detached components | Boron (compound-bound) B | 0.565–0.77 wt% | Buczkó et al. (2024) — Table 2, PGAA, 3 samples · measurement |
| Memory-card ICs (separated) detached components | Antimony Sb | 0.5–0.63 wt% | Buczkó et al. (2024) — Table 9, corrected INAA, 3 samples · measurement |
| Photoresistors (prepared) detached components | Germanium Ge | 2.59 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Photoresistors (prepared) detached components | Strontium Sr | 19.68 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Photoresistors (prepared) detached components | Cobalt Co | 8.691 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Photoresistors (prepared) detached components | Manganese Mn | 195.4 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| BPW34 photodiodes (prepared) detached components | Germanium Ge | 0.15 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| BPW34 photodiodes (prepared) detached components | Strontium Sr | 61.85 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| BPW34 photodiodes (prepared) detached components | Cobalt Co | 2.06 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| BPW34 photodiodes (prepared) detached components | Manganese Mn | 14.53 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Phototransistors (prepared) detached components | Germanium Ge | 0.231 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Phototransistors (prepared) detached components | Strontium Sr | 73.17 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Phototransistors (prepared) detached components | Cobalt Co | 5.11 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Phototransistors (prepared) detached components | Manganese Mn | 44.53 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used mobile-phone LCD screens (prepared) detached components | Germanium Ge | 0.062 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used mobile-phone LCD screens (prepared) detached components | Strontium Sr | 570.6 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used mobile-phone LCD screens (prepared) detached components | Cobalt Co | 2.462 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used mobile-phone LCD screens (prepared) detached components | Manganese Mn | 15.62 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used TV LED-screen matrix (prepared) detached components | Germanium Ge | 0.06 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used TV LED-screen matrix (prepared) detached components | Strontium Sr | 145.5 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used TV LED-screen matrix (prepared) detached components | Cobalt Co | 1.561 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Used TV LED-screen matrix (prepared) detached components | Manganese Mn | 9.54 mg/kg | Willner et al. (2021) — Table 6 — possible Ge loss in aqua-regia digestion · measurement |
| Coated HDD magnets detached components | Neodymium Nd | 19.9 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES — Pr, Gd, Ho not reported · measurement |
| Coated HDD magnets detached components | Dysprosium Dy | 1.3 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES — Pr, Gd, Ho not reported · measurement |
| Coated HDD magnets detached components | Boron (compound-bound) B | 0.9 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES — Pr, Gd, Ho not reported · measurement |
| Coated HDD magnets detached components | Cobalt Co | 0.5 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES — Pr, Gd, Ho not reported · measurement |
| Coated HDD magnets detached components | Aluminium Al | 0.4 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES — Pr, Gd, Ho not reported · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Neodymium Nd | 16.6 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Praseodymium Pr | 3.5 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Dysprosium Dy | 1.3 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Gadolinium Gd | 1.2 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Holmium Ho | 0.7 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Boron (compound-bound) B | 1.1 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Cobalt Co | 1 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Coated electric-scooter magnets detached components | Aluminium Al | 0.6 wt% | Couto et al. (2024) — Table 3, ICP-OES · measurement |
| Feature-phone PCB fraction whole board | Copper Cu | 21.8 wt% | Gómez et al. (2023) — 15 phones, early 2000s–2015 · measurement |
| Multimedia-phone PCB fraction whole board | Copper Cu | 29.5 wt% | Gómez et al. (2023) — 15 phones, early 2000s–2015 · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB fraction (Gómez) whole board | Copper Cu | 32.2 wt% | Gómez et al. (2023) — 15 phones, early 2000s–2015 · measurement |
| Studied phone PCB material (all generations) whole board | Palladium Pd | 98 g/t | Gómez et al. (2023) — composition-based extrapolation, not measured recovery · modelling assumption |
| Studied phone PCB material (all generations) whole board | Platinum Pt | 38 g/t | Gómez et al. (2023) — composition-based extrapolation, not measured recovery · modelling assumption |
| Studied phone PCB material (all generations) whole board | Rare earths, combined REE | 11,100 g/tcombined rare earths — not split into elements | Gómez et al. (2023) — composition-based extrapolation, not measured recovery · modelling assumption |
| Older mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Copper Cu | 293.72 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Older mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Aluminium Al | 22.81 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Older mobile-phone PCB (populated) whole board | Palladium Pd | < 0 g/treported 0.00 — not detected, not proof of absence | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB after 2008 (populated) whole board | Copper Cu | 428.46 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB after 2008 (populated) whole board | Aluminium Al | 29.48 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Smartphone PCB after 2008 (populated) whole board | Palladium Pd | 61.7 g/t | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Older computer PCB, Pentium 4 or earlier whole board | Copper Cu | 179.53 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Older computer PCB, Pentium 4 or earlier whole board | Aluminium Al | 40.17 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Older computer PCB, Pentium 4 or earlier whole board | Palladium Pd | 31.49 g/t | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Computer PCB, newer processors whole board | Copper Cu | 261.46 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Computer PCB, newer processors whole board | Aluminium Al | 43.38 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| Computer PCB, newer processors whole board | Palladium Pd | 5.98 g/t | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| CRT television PCB (populated) whole board | Copper Cu | 84.08 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| CRT television PCB (populated) whole board | Aluminium Al | 48.41 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| CRT television PCB (populated) whole board | Palladium Pd | < 0 g/treported 0.00 — not detected, not proof of absence | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| LCD TV signal-processing PCB whole board | Copper Cu | 264.9 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| LCD TV signal-processing PCB whole board | Aluminium Al | 42.98 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| LCD TV signal-processing PCB whole board | Palladium Pd | 7.53 g/t | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| LCD TV signal-reception PCB whole board | Copper Cu | 190.2 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| LCD TV signal-reception PCB whole board | Aluminium Al | 76.47 g/kg | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| LCD TV signal-reception PCB whole board | Palladium Pd | 25.99 g/t | Anić Vučinić et al. (2020) — Table 2, ~28 kg per sample, Croatian recycler · measurement |
| RF amplifier chip per component | Gallium Ga | 0.9 mg–1.3 mg each | Ueberschaar et al. (2017) — 0.9–1.3 mg Ga per chip; chip family must be identified · measurement |
| Ga-rich isolated fraction detached components | Gallium Ga | < 35 wt%up to 35 wt% | Ueberschaar et al. (2017) — thermal pretreatment + manual separation · measurement |
| AVX Ta/NbO capacitor, case A (25 mg) per component | Antimony Sb | 0.355 mg per item | AVX capacitor catalogue (legacy) — p. 104, 1.7 wt% Sb₂O₃ × 0.83535 — historical formulation · manufacturer declaration |
| AVX Ta/NbO capacitor, case C (137 mg) per component | Antimony Sb | 2.632 mg per item | AVX capacitor catalogue (legacy) — p. 104, 2.3 wt% Sb₂O₃ × 0.83535 — historical formulation · manufacturer declaration |
| AVX Ta/NbO capacitor, case D (330 mg) per component | Antimony Sb | 4.135 mg per item | AVX capacitor catalogue (legacy) — p. 104, 1.5 wt% Sb₂O₃ × 0.83535 — historical formulation · manufacturer declaration |
| AVX Ta/NbO capacitor, case E (460 mg) per component | Antimony Sb | 4.611 mg per item | AVX capacitor catalogue (legacy) — p. 104, 1.2 wt% Sb₂O₃ × 0.83535 — historical formulation · manufacturer declaration |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Boron (compound-bound) B | 9170–10800 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Antimony Sb | 2620–3180 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Phosphorus P | 1110–1120 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Strontium Sr | 686–785 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Bismuth Bi | 237–319 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Palladium Pd | 137–158 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Cobalt Co | 90.6–92.2 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Cerium Ce | 48–72 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Lanthanum La | 19.9–91.5 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Vanadium V | 26.3–30 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Platinum Pt | 1.7–5.3 mg/kg | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| PCB comminution fines < 75 µm detached components | Hafnium Hf | 10.4 mg/kg10.4 in one method, not detected in another — method-dependent | Ogunniyi et al. (2009) — Table 2 — spans are digestion methods, not device variation · measurement |
| Pre-treated WEEE PCB fines < 0.25 mm detached components | Lanthanum La | 2,000 mg/kgCompany I, > 2,000 | Gonzalez Baez et al. (2022) — three UK recyclers; REE analytical recovery 56–89% · measurement |
| Pre-treated WEEE PCB fines < 0.25 mm detached components | Neodymium Nd | 4,000 mg/kgCompany II (network switches), > 4,000 | Gonzalez Baez et al. (2022) — three UK recyclers; REE analytical recovery 56–89% · measurement |
| Pre-treated WEEE PCB fines < 0.25 mm detached components | Yttrium Y | 300 mg/kgCompany III, > 300 | Gonzalez Baez et al. (2022) — three UK recyclers; REE analytical recovery 56–89% · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Yttrium Y | 10.1 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Aluminium Al | 1.7 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Lanthanum La | 1.47 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Cerium Ce | 0.97 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Europium Eu | 0.67 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Terbium Tb | 0.48 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Strontium Sr | 0.37 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Magnesium Mg | 0.19 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Manganese Mn | 0.172 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Fluorescent-lamp phosphor powder < 125 µm detached components | Antimony Sb | 0.11 wt% | Pateli et al. (2020) — needs the powder share of whole lamps before use · measurement |
| Part or fraction | Possible materials | |
|---|---|---|
| HDD magnet assemblies | Nd, Pr, possibly Dy or Tb; Fe and B in the alloy | has values |
| Loudspeaker magnet assemblies | Nd and related REEs (NdFeB); or ferrite / SmCo | has values |
| Tantalum capacitors | Ta; possible Sb and Ag in other parts | has values |
| PCB contacts and connectors | Cu; possible Pd and other PGMs; Au, Ag co-value | has values |
| Resistors and chip arrays | Ru or Pd, possible Sb; Ag co-value | has values |
| Ceramic capacitors and inductors | Possible Nb, Y or Pd | has values |
| LEDs and compound semiconductors | Ga; application-dependent Ge or As | has values |
| Housings and heat sinks | Al; Mg in selected alloys | possible, not quantified |
| Cables and conductor fractions | Cu and Al | possible, not quantified |
| Legacy lamps and CCFL | Y and other phosphor REEs | has values |
| Flame-retarded plastics | Possible Sb as a compound | possible, not quantified |
| PV and specialist assemblies | Si metal, Ga or Ge depending on technology | possible, not quantified |
| Batteries (after safe separation) | Li, Co, Ni, Mn, graphite, Cu depending on chemistry | has values |
Listed but not used in calculations
- Ga, Nb, Ru, Ir detected by XRF in removed components (Charles et al. 2020) — no concentration
- Sc up to 31 mg/kg and Ce up to 13 mg/kg across 16 equipment types (Priya & Hait 2018) — upper values only
- Pt in integrated circuits below the quantification limit (Sideris et al. 2025)
- LED 2700 K table in the source repeats the phone-component numbers — held back until confirmed
- Wagner et al. — 4,051 PCB composition records, 19 elements, 1990–2020 (Urban Mine Platform). Verified to exist; not audited or imported.
- Gonzalez Baez et al. (2022): REE concentrations rise in finer particles (Spearman −0.57 to −0.98 for Y, La, Nd, Dy); fractions < 0.5 mm held ~40–80% of measured REE mass. Rank correlations, not prediction equations — assay dust and fines as separate outputs.
- EU lists: an elemental assay alone does not prove grade qualifications (e.g. battery-grade manganese, rare earths for permanent magnets).
- Korf et al. (2019): different laboratory methods can give significantly different PCB results, especially for precious, specialty and rare-earth elements. Compare measurements with care.
E-waste Statistics Guidelines 2026 — Annex 7, Table 26 (2024 composition at waste generation)
Modelled mixtures per EU category. Used only as a last resort when no product-specific value exists.
| Category | Al wt% | Cu wt% | Nd mg/kg | Ga mg/kg | Sb mg/kg |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 — Temperature exchange | 4.4 | 4.46 | 0.183 | 0.0527 | 4.63 |
| 2 — Screens and monitors | 4.91 | 2.38 | 371 | 2.65 | 2,040 |
| 3 — Lamps | 23.8 | 3.66 | 1.93 | 5.58 | 70.6 |
| 4a — Large equipment (excl. PV) | 2.14 | 1.98 | 276 | 0.0363 | 21.4 |
| 4b — Photovoltaic panels | 11.6 | 0.679 | 0.0107 | 1.69 | 4.12 |
| 5 — Small equipment | 7.32 | 4.53 | 114 | 0.0842 | 22.1 |
| 6 — Small IT and telecom | 2.02 | 3.66 | 326 | 6.46 | 112 |
Van Nielen et al. 2023, Towards neodymium recycling — Table 1 (magnet mass × Nd concentration)
Neodymium per product that actually contains the magnet. Multiply by the share of items with the magnet — if unknown, the result stays unknown.
| UNU-KEY | Product | Magnet | Nd per equipped item |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0102 | Dishwasher | 35 g | 7.98 g |
| 0104 | Washing machine | 130 g | 29.64 g |
| 0105 | Dryer | 102 g | 23.26 g |
| 0108 | Refrigerator | 112.5 g | 25.65 g |
| 0111 | Air conditioner | 152 g | 34.66 g |
| 0204 | Vacuum cleaner | 16.8 g | 3.83 g |
| 0304 | Printer | 15 g | 3.42 g |
| 0309 | Flat-panel monitor | 3.95 g | 0.651 g |
| 0408 | Flat-panel TV | 11.48 g | 2.061 g |
JRC 2020, Material efficiency: smartphones (after Manhart et al.) — Table 18
Basis: whole phone incl. battery, ~160 g. Alternative to the component build-up for 6B — use one route, never both.
| Material | Per unit | wt% |
|---|---|---|
| Aluminium Al | 22.18 g | 13.8625% |
| Copper Cu | 15.12 g | 9.45% |
| Magnesium Mg | 5.54 g | 3.4625% |
| Cobalt Co | 5.38 g | 3.3625% |
| Tungsten W | 0.44 g | 0.275% |
| Neodymium Nd | 0.05 g | 0.0313% |
| Praseodymium Pr | 0.01 g | 0.0063% |
| Tantalum Ta | 0.02 g | 0.0125% |
| Palladium Pd | 0.01 g | 0.0063% |
| Gallium Ga | 0.4 mg | 0.0003% |
| Gadolinium Gd | 0.2 mg | 0.0001% |
| Europium Eu | 0.1 mg | 0.0001% |
| Cerium Ce | 0.03 mg | 0% |
Omura et al. 2010 — composition analysis of PC battery cells
Basis: one cell, 39.7 g. Applies to the studied cell only; needs cells per pack and share of laptops with battery.
| Material | Per unit | wt% |
|---|---|---|
| Lithium Li | 1.38 g | 3.4761% |
| Cobalt Co | 10.3 g | 25.9446% |
| Nickel Ni | 0.236 g | 0.5945% |
| Copper Cu | 4.62 g | 11.6373% |
Golzar-Ahmadi & Holuszko 2026 — Table 2 (Ga by alkaline fusion; others four-acid digestion)
Basis: one lamp, ~200 g (13% strip, 2.2% driver). Component contributions, not a whole-lamp assay.
| Material | Per unit | wt% |
|---|---|---|
| Gallium Ga | 0.0118 g | 0.0059% |
| Copper Cu | 4.38 g | 2.19% |
| Yttrium Y | 8.87 mg | 0.0044% |
| Cerium Ce | 6 mg | 0.003% |
| Terbium Tb | 2.39 mg | 0.0012% |
IRENA / IEA-PVPS 2016, End-of-Life Management: Solar PV Panels — crystalline-silicon reference panel
Silicon = cell silicon only; silicon bound in glass is not counted. Separate c-Si, CIGS, CdTe and inverters.
Recovery of Materials from Refrigerator (2024, Rekular GmbH, 100 units + simulation) — reported recoveries
Study-specific comparison only — not your facility's verified recovery.
| Material | Metallurgical stage | Whole chain |
|---|---|---|
| Aluminium | ≈99% | 68.4% |
| Copper | ≈88% | 52.4% |
Selected groups (EU calculation-tool manual). UNU-KEYs version 2 exists; this list uses the original 54 keys.
| 1 Temperature exchange | 0108 refrigerators · 0109 freezers · 0111 air conditioners |
| 2 Screens and monitors | 0303 laptops/tablets · 0309 flat-panel monitors · 0408 flat-panel TVs |
| 3 Lamps | 0502 compact fluorescent · 0503 fluorescent tubes · 0505 LED lamps |
| 4 Large equipment | 0002 PV panels (incl. inverters) · 0102 dishwashers · 0104 washing machines · 0105 dryers |
| 5 Small equipment | 0204 vacuum cleaners · 0405 speakers · 0601 household tools |
| 6 Small IT and telecom | 0302 desktops · 0304 printers · 0306 mobile phones |
Gold, silver and indium are valuable co-targets but are not on the Regulation (EU) 2024/1252 CRM/SRM annexes. Element detection alone does not prove a recovered product meets grade rules (e.g. battery-grade nickel, rare earths for magnets).